Day 17 of WEGO Blog Writing Challenge: Doctors don’t really care

Posted: April 18, 2012 in Do Doctors Care?
Tags: ,

Today’s prompt: What Lesson did I learn the hard way?

Surely, you know I won’t waste your time writing for 15 minutes today, since this is what I blog about almost every day!
I learned that doctors are NOT due the high honor and authority granted to them my the ignorant masses by being misdiagnosed and having my symptoms ignored over and over and over…since I was a child. If they really cared, they would let a patient of any age complain about the exact same symptoms for years and just dismiss them. They would do a little bit of research. The past several years, all they had to do was reach for their phone and do a PubMed or MedScape search. There is no excuse for NOT researching any symptoms or any treatment options. I understand from some people that their doctors HAVE done this. So why do I get the docs that haven’t heard of diagnostics and treatments that have been around for 20 years, then look at me as if I’m the dumb one when I bring them up? Isn’t their first part of their oath, do no harm?” isn’t it “harm” to let a patient suffer and get worse and worse without taking action?

Sorry if the truth hurts folks, but I don’t believe in sugar-coating the truth. If you want that, go get a donut.

Leave a Reply

