HAWMC Day 28: I will follow you….

Posted: April 28, 2013 in social networks, Technology
Tags: , ,

20130428-074019.jpg

Today’s assignment: create a “must follow” list for our community.

Living With Bob – the best-written, honest and realistic look Ito the life of a wonderful gal with autonomic systems disorders, and the many weird comorbidities that come along with a true ANS disorder. Educational, humorous, poignant, unembellished down-to-earth truths,

Mental Illness Happy Hour – Fantastic weekly podcast and website and hilarious Twitter feed the explores the lives of those with “diagnoses” that live and function in out society quite well. As the het, Paul Gilmartin put it,m “it’s not a substitute for professional counseling – it more like a waiting room that doesn’t suck! Creatives (comedians, actors, artists, Gulf War vets and listeners are the weekly guests. You will know many of them, and want to know those those that are “new to you.” Website, mentalpod.com offers lots of surveys that you can take to anonymously share all those secrets, shames, struggles and frustrations. A forum to connect with other listeners is also offered. The Mental Pod combo is the best thing to happen to mental Heath since SSRIS!

WEGO Health Facebook Page: a home or health advocates – sponsors blogging challenges, offers round table discussions and provides info about upcoming events in which advocates are encouraged to attend and participate.

Comments
  1. Milly says:

    Thank you! I’m new here and to blogging in general. I believe this was the blog I read asking for the names and areas of good doctors. When I began fainting every time I stood up, I was scared to death and had NO idea what was wrong with me. I’ve had migraines my entire life, and it just so happened that I had an appointment with a new neurologist. While in her office, I explained the fainting along with the MANY other symptoms I was experiencing. She literally sat with me for over an hour, writing down (almost) my every word. At the end of the hour she looked at me and said, “In addition to chronic migraines, I believe you have Postural Orthostatic Tachycardia Syndrome or POTS. You have an autonomic nervous system disorder. Dysautonomia. We need to run several blood tests and you probably have low blood volume, so we will take that into consideration. I will have the nurse get you in with a cardiologist ASAP, as you will need a Tilt Table Test to confirm my belief. Let me get you some reading materials on the subject.”

    I was blown away! I LOVE this woman! So I had my blood drawn and on my way out was given an appointment card with my TTT scheduled, as well as the reading the same day. Needless to say, she was exactly right (and my issues are another story!) I couldn’t believe it, as I had read that so many people have trouble getting diagnosed.
    The words rolled off her tongue as though she said them every day, so I asked (and thought) if it was a common illness. She simply said, “Nope”.

    I didn’t love the cardiologist so much. I’m looking for a new one.

    My neurologists name is Dr. Jan Brandes in Nashville, TN 615.284.4680. She is amazing.

    Ironically, she is not affiliated with Vanderbilt! I had no idea Vanderbilt specialized in these disorders. I can see the Vanderbilt campus from my house!
    Dr. Brandes works out of Baptist Hospital.

    I hope this is helpful to someone, as I’ve read there is a long waiting list for Vandy.

    • Lori says:

      You are AWESOME!! Thank you sooooo much for sharing your story! And, I’m very happy for you that you have a fantastic doctor! Yes, good docs are rare, and ones that even know about ANS disorders are rarer than hen’s teeth!!
      I’ll add your docs name to the list!!! I’m very grateful for your input!!

  2. Christine says:

    I LOVE Living with Bob!! I will definitely check out the other blogs, too. Thanks for sharing those.

Leave a Reply

