Yes, your doctor may REALLY hate you…here’s proof!!!

Posted: February 26, 2014 in Do Doctors Care?, Doctor-Patient Communication, ePatients, Patient Satisfaction, Research
Tags: , , , ,

To keep up-to-date on the subject in the medical field in which I have an interest, personal or professional, I subscribe to Medscape updates. I strongly encourage every ePatient or person that advocates for themselves or another should do the same, IMHO. It’s free and very worthwhile.

A shocking topic came through today and I HAVE to share it with everyone I possibly can.

Anyone that has been dismissed, treated in a less than human manner or completely ignored by a doctor they are looking to for help may second-guess their initial feeling: “Why does that doc hate me so much?”

You discuss it with your spouse, your friends, your fellow “zebras.”

Most tell you, no, doctors don’t hate their patients-s/he must have been having a bad day…or..YOU are reading too much into the interaction.

Read the Medscape article  HERE:

It is titled, “Medscape Business of Medicine Top Complaints Posted on Doc-Rating Websites,” by Shelly Reese.

Then, please read the response from a doctor to the article, a Dr. Barbara Lawrence, copied this directly from the plethora of comments, about 25% of them similar in tone (OMG – these are the people we are trusting with  our LIVES…) below:

“This reminds me of a large, complex doctor evaluation done by the Feds on Medicare patients. After evaluating multiple categories it turned out what seniors valued most highly in selecting a doctor/practice was the number of parking spaces and the waiting room appearance.

I don’t mind patients being sensitive to my bedside manner, my staff’s courtesy or follow-up phone calls. But really , I’m not in the business of customer service because I’m a medical professional. I can’t guarantee that patients will be seen on time due to the unpredictability of what comes through the door.

I could care less if the patient thinks they were correctly diagnosed or treated because we aren’t peers in internal medicine. Just because Readers Digest says being tired is a sign of lupus doesn’t mean you have it.

Patients may want to be co-partners in their care but they suffer from the extreme disadvantages of being poorly informed/misinformed, anxiety-driven, making judgments based on anecdotal information or TV ads, and no long term clinical practice experience.

That’s not to say their ideas have never been right. Sometimes they are spot on. But most often they come in with fixed foolish ideas planted by Connie Chung or, God help us, the internet.

Such “customer service” surveys should confine themselves to the patients’ area of expertise, and not the esoteric and complex art/science of medicine. experience.

That’s not to say their ideas have never been right. Sometimes they are spot on. But most often they come in with fixed foolish ideas planted by Connie Chung or, God help us, the internet.

Such “customer service” surveys should confine themselves to the patients’ area of expertise, and not the esoteric and complex art/science of medicine.”

(Emphasis added)

So, how dies THAT make you feel??

Vindicated – you are not crazy, overreacting, etc….?

Mad as hell?

Disgusted?

Do you feel sad for her patients?

Do you wonder how many of them were misdiagnosed, ignored, or treated harshly by her in some way?

I REALLY would love to hear your reactions!

My opinion:

A doctor-patient relationship should be one of mutual respect. If a doctor wants the respect and admiration of patients, treat them likewise. And for all concerned, they should stay abreast of the latest medical advances and studies in their specialty.

I wrote a lengthy reply to her nastiness , but I won’t include it here unless my readers ask. (I did say this in support of all us zebras: “It will confirm what all of us hard-to-diagnose patients have experienced- that docs with hatred towards us DO exist.

How sad.”

(Gee, I wonder how Connie Chung feels about being called out in this? Yikes.)

Comments
  1. Christine says:

    I would love to read you response! It saddens me to read her thoughts, but to be honest, I’m used to being treated my medical professionals who feel that way, sadly.

Leave a Reply

